Development process in Minneapolis

Parks, Minneapolis Public Schools, Density, Zoning, etc.
Chava
Nicollet Mall

Development process in Minneapolis

Postby Chava » May 9th, 2014, 5:45 pm

Hello all!

I'm new to the city and trying to understand how people do things here. I came across this Strib Article that talked about frustration that developers encounter when they try to pitch new ideas or developments. http://www.startribune.com/local/blogs/ ... ommentHere

What exactly is the process? There's one point in the article where Lisa Bender says that there is no neighborhood approval needed. If that is the case, why do developers spend so much time trying to appease neighbors? Do neighborhood groups wield mass influence over the zoning and planning board?

In Chicago, they did the whole developer presentation to angry neighbors thing, but projects invariably were rammed through. It seems a bit more nuanced here. Enlighten me?

gpete
Union Depot

Re: Development process

Postby gpete » May 10th, 2014, 9:47 am

Neighborhood groups will hold votes on projects to approve or disapprove them, but it has no legal implication.

City Council has the final say on everything. Neighborhood groups and the planning commission weigh in, but City Council can do what it wants.

However, strong neighborhood opposition can create real political pressure on their city council member.

And the city council has a tradition of honoring the wishes of the council member whose ward hosts the controversial project.

So let's say a proposed project in Ward 7 was bitterly opposed by the neighborhood group. Council member Lisa Goodman might feel the heat and decide to oppose it. In the past, most of the council would fall in line and vote down the project to honor Goodman's wishes.

I think that tradition is eroding somewhat, and that's good.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Tcmetro
Wells Fargo Center

Postby Tcmetro » May 10th, 2014, 10:04 am