Trade Ayd Mill and 35E for calmed Snelling?

Roads - Rails - Sidewalks - Bikeways
Vagueperson
Union Depot

Postby Vagueperson » September 11th, 2015, 6:43 pm

I am far from an expert or even amarm chair expert on these issues, but as I considered the strange situation of 35E and Snelling I wondered why we don't just switch the use of these roads. Could we reduce the truck traffic and overall volume of Snelling by allowing trucks on 35E and building out the Ayd Mill connection to west-bound 94? If it would work I think it may be worthwhile to make Snelling, which traverses many neighborhoods of the city, into a more livable space. Ayd Mill, on the other hand, is already isolated from important commercial mainstreets for the most part. With MNDot wanting to give up jurisdiction over Snelling, it seems like there could be political will behind reducing its current role.

mattaudio
Stone Arch Bridge

Re: Trade Ayd Mill and 35E for calmed Snelling?

Postby mattaudio » September 12th, 2015, 10:15 am

I think this could be a great option and have proposed it for years. A three lane Snelling with pedestrians first, in exchange for an Ayd Mill connection... let a street be a street and let a road be a road.

Wedgeguy
Capella Tower

Postby Wedgeguy » September 12th, 2015, 1:42 pm